Chilly Weather

Hello again fellow Curvistas! I almost put this post off until later. My thinking was that it was the middle of November. It really is time to start looking for and wearing beautiful and flattering winter coats. Living in Chicago, a lot of the time we have to start wearing coats in October! Us Chicagoans know about the cold weather. But we also know about the unpredictability of the weather as well!

I truly was all ready this morning to start this post. Coat season! That is, until I walked outside. Holy 60 degree weather! No need for coats! Writing about coats was truly the last thing on my mind. But not all of us are blessed with this weather, so you cold climate ladies(poor you..) this blog posting is for you! And for my fellow Chicagoans.. enjoy this weather while you can! Tomorrow you may need these coats 😉

Chilly Weather

I will start with my absolute favorite.  It’s the gorgeous camel colored jacket dead in the middle!  This 70s style fit and flare coat makes me drool.  It’s certainly on my wish list for the season.  ASOS Curve created this gem.  It’s both structured and fun while remaining timeless.  At $162, its a bit of a splurge, but I have a feeling after buying this coat, you won’t want to wear anything else for years!  Find it at www.asos.com !

(Counterclockwise)

This plaid black and white belted jacket is also a classic.  This jacket can take you through many a fashion season.  It’s young, fresh, and will keep you warm.  The color and style will go perfectly with most outfits! And for $55 at your local Target, how can you go wrong?  Visit www.target.com or your local Target to get it!

For a more structured look, try this Old Navy military jacket!  Military styles are still in right now, and in a beautiful navy blue hue this jacket is fun, stylish and elegant.  It can be worn for a night out with the girls, or to a fancy cocktail party!  This versatile jacket is also a steal!  Only $60 at Old Navy!  Unfortunately, Old Navy only sells most plus sized garments online.  Most stores do sell up to an 18 or 20 (At an 18 I can still shop in stores)  My advice, go to an Old Navy store first to see if they have your size, or at least to see the coat in person.  If not, you can always buy online at www.oldnavy.com Luckily returns are easy 🙂

The color and shape of this next coat make it amazing.  The deep burgundy berry color is absolutely gorgeous.  The swing cape feel is fun, while the structured top keeps it elegant.  And while I’m usually not a fan of this type of collar, it suits this coat perfectly.  Any glamorous Curvista would glow in this coat!  It’s not the cheapest at $125, but it’s well worth the price.  Find it at www.onestopplus.com !

The pure crispness of white is mesmerizing in the winter.  It’s the color of snow, clouds, and dreams.  And this white pea coat takes the cake.  Of course, it certainly isn’t for girls like me, who spill almost everything that goes near their mouths.  But our more careful curvistas will look stunning in this coat! It’s classy, classic, elegant, and timeless.  Score one for yourself at your local Lane Bryant for $102, or find it online at www.lanebryant.com .

Our final coat is by one of my absolute favorite designers, Michael Kors.  It’s a soft hooded jacket in a deep chocolate-brown.  This gorgeous jacket is belted, classy and downright warm.  Great news!  This jacket, which originally sells for $230 is currently on sale for $140 at www.nordstroms.com or at your local Nordstrom’s.  If you can’t get your hands on the sale price, you can always look at www.michaelkors.com .

Coats and jackets can be difficult to shop for.  When I shop for coats I am continuously disappointed by the fit.  I am much smaller on the bottom than I am on the top.  If they fit on the top they are way to wide on the bottom.  The best bet is to find a jacket that fits your widest or most problematic area.  A tailor is a girl’s best friend, not just with jackets, but with any article of clothing!  Have your tailor work their magic on your new coat!  They will be able to fit it perfectly to your body.  It may cost a bit more, but a well-fitting jacket can take you far!

So what do you ladies think?  What jackets will you be wearing? Know any other great stores that carry wonderful plus sized jackets? Have your own blog with great jacket selections?  Let me know!  Link your site! I’m always looking for new people to follow!  Also, check out my polyvore site at http://curvista.polyvore.com/. As always, thanks for reading, thanks for your input, and happy shopping!

-Andrea Nicole

About Andrea Nicole

My name is Andrea Nicole and I am a plus sized fashionista, or as I like to call myself, a CURVISTA. This blog is dedicated to plus sized women everywhere and aims to bring resources, fashion, accessories, advice and more!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

